The Trial Lawyer Hall of Fame is Opened on the Campus of Temple University

By Andrea Schmauss

Howard L Nations with Portrait
Howard Nations and the painting which hangs in The Trial Lawyer Hall of Fame

The Trial Lawyer Hall of Fame recognizes and honors remarkable trial lawyers who have left an indelible mark on the American legal tradition through a lifetime of service to the American public and the Constitution, and who have distinguished themselves as advocates in the courtroom. The honorees are recognized for defending the right to trial by jury, as well as the integrity of American Jurisprudence by their exceptional actions in the courtroom throughout the United States of America. The Hall of Fame includes attorneys from the past such as John Adams, Clarence Darrow, and Thurgood Marshall as well as Johnnie Cochran, Morris Dees and Gerry Spence.

With the first inductees chosen in 2009, prestigious opening ceremonies for the Hall of Fame’s permanent home on the campus of Temple University was held on September 9, 2014.  Howard Nations, a 2012 Inductee into the Hall of Fame, had the honor of speaking at the opening ceremonies. Said Mr. Nations, “The Hall of Fame is a place where the endless attorney jokes stop and people have an opportunity to study the greatest in the profession.”  For those thinking about joining the profession, Mr. Nations will be donating papers and other items “to try to inspire a whole new generation of new lawyers who are coming up behind us.”

Howard Nations speaking at TLHF
Howard Nations spoke on behalf of all of the Hall of Fame Inductees